Jiu Jitsu Spot Light with Keith Fukumae

1. How did you get started in BJJ?
Much like everyone else, I was watching UFC a lot and was curious to try it out. In high school I always wanted to wrestle. I’d beat people on the wrestling team in PE, but I wasn’t down with wearing spandex. During college, I wanted to work out and Jiu-Jitsu looked interesting (closest thing to Wrestling), so I looked up some spots. I found One World in Union City and have been there ever since.

2. What is your current rank and who gave it to you? Where do you currently train at now?
I’m a black belt under Mike Prudencio. I still train under Mike at One World Jiu-Jitsu Academy.

3. Is there a person you would like to roll with if you were given the opportunity?
Probably Miyao brothers or Bruno Malfacine. I believe smaller guys use more technique because they have to, so it would be interesting to feel out their game.

4. Do you compete in BJJ?
I’m not as active anymore. I’ve only competed twice during my year as a black belt. Master Worlds and Asia Open.

5. How did you do in all your tournaments? Accomplishments?
I’ve done ok. Most of my competition days were white to purple. I made the podium at almost all the local tournaments like US Open, American Cup, All Star and other random ones. I’ve got a few Grapplers Quest medals and 1 IBJJF medal. I’ve yet to medal at Pans or Worlds.

6. What do you do for a living? Work? School?
I work at NVIDIA doing IT for events and tradeshows. We travel a good amount, which is fun, but sucks for my training and diet…

7. What do you enjoy doing other than BJJ? Hobbies?
My only real hobby is Jiu-Jitsu. Like everyone says it’s a lifestyle. Other than that I enjoy traveling and checking out new places I’ve never been. It’s pretty awesome seeing how people in other states/countries live and stepping outside the box.

8. How has BJJ changed your life?
Too many to mention. To sum it up, I matured mentally a lot faster hanging out with the older guys in class and learning from them. You get humbled really quick coming in with a big ego… I have a different understanding about respect. Everything I do pretty much revolves around Jiu-Jitsu. I get to stay fit, hang out with some super cool peeps, and relieve stress all at the same time.

9. Any advice to the new white belts that recently started BJJ?
Stay hungry, but don’t go crazy on techniques. Learn basics and stretch a lot! The more flexible you are, the more options you have. Have an expectation that you will get tapped 20 times a day. It won’t be easy, but once you become consistent and put in time on the mats, you’ll notice that you’ll start to tap less and maybe get some submissions of your own.

10. What do you like most and least about BJJ?
I like the comradery of the Jiu-Jitsu community. Everyone who trains JJ has a shared sense of respect for each other, especially the higher belts. They understand the time, effort and attitude someone has put in to be where they’re at. Also I like that everyone has nicknames.

Like a lot of people, I don’t like the politics in JJ. From visiting gyms to refs at tournaments. It’s toxic for the sport.

11. Do you train any other martial arts or exercise other than BJJ?
Strictly JJ. I try and lift a couple weeks out of the year, but can’t seem to stay on it lol.

12. Is there anything else you would like to say to the readers of this interview?
Thank you KNOXX for the interview! Of course I have to give shout outs 🙂 Shout out to my instructor Mike P. and all of our students at One World Jiu-Jitsu in Union City and Sunnyvale. If you’re free on Sunday nights, make sure to come by and check out our open mat sessions at 6PM. All schools invited.

Jiu-Jitsu Spotlight is to allow one’s personal opinions, advices and journey into their Jiu Jitsu training and lifestyle.
If you train Jiu-Jitsu, and would like to be featured on our website and share your love and passion for BJJ, please email to info@knoxxfit.com. All belt ranking are accepted as long as you love BJJ and you feel that it as impacted your life for the positive in any way. Osss!

Check out http://www.Knoxxgear.com

Leave a Reply

