Jiu Jitsu Spotlight with Brooke Mayo

1. How did you get started in BJJ?
I started BJJ because I had just recently quit college soccer at Saint Mary’s College because I just had surgery and wasn’t able to continue playing. I was looking for something to keep me active. Someone told me to go try a jiu jitsu class at the Ralph Gracie Academy in Dublin.

2. What is your current rank and who gave it to you? Where do you currently train at now?
I am currently a blue belt. Paul Mendoza promoted me when I was training at Dynamic MMA, but I currently train at Ralph Gracie Dublin.

3. Is there a person you would like to roll with if you were given the opportunity?
I would love to roll with Mackenzie Dern.

4. Do you compete in BJJ?
Yes. I compete.

5. How did you do in all your tournaments? Accomplishments?
I competed in Jiu Jitsu By the Bay as a white belt. I took first in Gi and No Gi. As a blue belt I competed in UGF and took first in Gi and No Gi. I also competed at Pan Ams this year and took third. This past weekend I also took first for All Star BJJ tournament in Santa Cruz.

6. What do you do for a living? Work? School?
I am a soccer coach for Pleasanton Rage Girls Soccer Club and I am also a flight attendant for Kaiser Air.

7. What do you enjoy doing other than BJJ? Hobbies?
I like to train and compete in Muay Thai and MMA. I also like to play soccer for fun.

8. How has BJJ changed your life?
It has really helped me to become a more mindful person and has helped me to slow down. When I was playing college soccer everything was 100 miles a minute but now I feel like I am beginning to be more aware and calculated with my movements. BJJ has also connected me with some amazing friends. I have become close with a lot of the people I train with. Everyone in the jiu jitsu community has been so supportive with helping me improve.

9. Any advice to the new white belts that recently started BJJ?
My advice to white belts who have just started training would be to stick with it and be patient. It’s impossible to learn every move over night. Jiu jitsu can be very frustrating at first, but if you leave your ego at the door when you enter your academy and learn from your mistakes you will be able to progress.

10.What do you like most and least about BJJ?
I really enjoy learning new techniques and being challenged by my teammates when I roll. My least favorite part about BJJ is getting mat burns and Gi burns

11. Is there anything else you would like to say to the readers of this interview?
When training BJJ stay humble and hungry!



Jiu-Jitsu Spotlight is to allow one’s personal opinions, advices and journey into their Jiu Jitsu training and lifestyle.
If you train Jiu-Jitsu, and would like to be featured on our website and share your love and passion for BJJ, please email to info@knoxxfit.com. All belt ranking are accepted as long as you love BJJ and you feel that it as impacted your life for the positive in any way. Osss!

Check out http://www.Knoxxgear.com

Leave a Reply

