Jiu Jitsu Spotlight by KNOXX with Genaro Lerma

1. How did you get started in BJJ?
First I’d like to say thank you for taking the time to talk with me.
How did I get started in BJJ… well, Ive always fancied myself a grappler since I was a wee lad. So BJJ was a natural progression but I had to wait until it came here to Maryland . I used to read the Blackbelt mags and then in ’93 Art Davie introduced the USA to the UFC and “The Gracies”

2.What is your current rank and who gave it to you? Where do you currently train at now?
My current rank is 2 stripe blue but I believe Im up for promotion. Im under Vicente Junior a De la Riva School Conquest BJJ and Im still and always and forever will be with them.

3. Is there a person you would like to roll with if you were given the opportunity?
Yeah, Ed O’Neil he is awesome but Id say probably maybe No Gi with Eddie Bravo. Like it or not, he has brought No Gi to the fore font and has revolutionized the sport .

4. Do you compete in BJJ?
Yes I do

5. How did you do in all your tournaments? Accomplishments?
Well I’ve only been in 2 but I have 3 medals….1 gold for Gi, 1 Silver for No Gi, and 1 Bronze in Gi sub only.

6. What do you do for a living? Work? School?
I work for myself mostly doing whatever someone needs done.. Im kind of a middle man at times or the man depends on what needs done .

7. What do you enjoy doing other than BJJ? Hobbies?
I play the drums and other instruments, tinker a lil with music and cars… I also dig the outdoors

8. How has BJJ changed your life?
It has gotten me into shape and kept me there, as well,as boosted my confidence in so many ways and taught me patience and humility.

9. Any advice to the new white belts that recently started BJJ?
Yes keep working hard, ask questions but give NO advice(as a white belt) AND LISTEN TO YOUR INSTRUCTOR.

10. What do you like most and least about BJJ?
I love the art of the grapple, the family and brotherhood you have. I dislike any politics and the silly rules that if you’re this belt you cant do this or that bullshit and I dont like being stiffled by those rules.

11. Do you train any other martial arts or exercise other than BJJ?
I do like yoga but really wrestling in all its forms… So that and MMA are the only other martial arts I do

12. Is there anything else you would like to say to the readers of this interview?
I would like them to know that if you are in a BJJ club,school, academy or whatever its called.. make sure they know their lineage and where their Jiu-jitsu comes from. Also always pay respect to our fore fathers of Jiu-jitsu,just give back what you get out of it, never bring disrespect or dishonor to yourself or those you train with, leave all egos at the door,its just training so you can tap its better to tap in training then get hurt because of an ego….. you can saved that for the tourneys.


Jiu-Jitsu Spotlight is to allow one’s personal opinions, advices and journey into their Jiu Jitsu training and lifestyle.
If you train Jiu-Jitsu, and would like to be featured on our website and share your love and passion for BJJ, please email to info@knoxxfit.com. All belt ranking are accepted as long as you love BJJ and you feel that it as impacted your life for the positive in any way. Osss!

Check out http://www.Knoxxgear.com

Leave a Reply

