Jiu Jitsu Spotlight by KNOXX with Sydney Edwards

1. How did you get started in BJJ?

I started training kickboxing at AKA. My grandfather was a pro boxer in Chicago so always felt the fight was in my blood. After a year of training and heckling from the guys to try out Jiu Jitsu I did. The next week the gym was shut down and I ended up at Knoxx. Soon after Josh introduced the Jiu jitsu class and I tried it out a few more times and pretty much fell in love with it.

2. What is your current rank and who gave it to you? Where do you currently train at now?

I am a 2 stripe white belt training, given by Josh Thomson and I train at KNOXX Martial Arts and Fitness

3. Is there a person you would like to roll with if you were given the opportunity? Ronda Rousey!! She’s my idol!

4. Do you compete in BJJ? Yes

5. How did you do in all your tournaments? Accomplishments?

I lost my first competition. I was so scared and nervous I froze up!!

6. What do you do for a living? Work? School?

I am hairdresser and owner of Taylor & Jayne Salon as well as a mom of 3 boys:)

7.What do you enjoy doing other than BJJ? Hobbies? 

I love to swim, hike, boxing,  kickboxing and hang with family!

8. How has BJJ changed your life?

It’s Not only the sport that has changed my life but the people that I have met. I haven’t been a part of a team since elementary school. As we get older I believe it’s harder to find loyal friends and people that care about you and have your back as much as your family does. When I started BJJ not only did I find myself, I found a family that I could depend on and turn to no matter what. It’s like no words need to be spoken to explain the feeling and connection we all have…it’s all laid out on the mat. It’s almost like we are all there because of the same reasons…..but it’s an unspoken understanding and bond between us all. It’s truly amazing.

9. Any advice to the new white belts that recently started BJJ?

Focus. Be consistent. Don’t think, just do. Mainly..what I’ve learned…don’t hold back because your opponent will show no mercy so neither should you! Eat or be eaten!

10. What do you like most and least about BJJ?

When I am rolling I don’t think…about anyone or anything. Not even my opponent. That is huge for me as a stress case and overt thinker.

11. Do you train any other martial arts or exercise other than BJJ? Kickboxing/boxing

12. Is there anything else you would like to say to the readers of this interview?

If in life you feel like you have been an outcast or not fit in, or if you find you were never really “good” at anything, or you suffer from anxiety and depression and always felt lost and need direction I would say try BJJ. There is something magical about the sport. If you ever have felt like you don’t belong… You might find a home on the mat.



Jiu-Jitsu Spotlight is to allow one’s personal opinions, advices and journey into their Jiu Jitsu training and lifestyle.
If you train Jiu-Jitsu, and would like to be featured on our website and share your love and passion for BJJ, please email to info@knoxxfit.com. All belt ranking are accepted as long as you love BJJ and you feel that it as impacted your life for the positive in any way. Osss!

Check out http://www.Knoxxgear.com

Leave a Reply

