Jiu Jitsu Spotlight by KNOXX with Gary Chin

1.How did you get started in BJJ?
I started BJJ when I was around 20 years old. Went to try a week of trial classes didn’t like the idea or rolling with sweaty dudes. I started again seriously when I was 32 years old and will not make the mistake of stopping again. I love it and I can’t imagine life without BJJ.

2. What is your current rank and who gave it to you? Where do you currently train at now?
I was promoted to blue belt by Jeremy Adkins, head instructor of Machine Works BJJ. I currently train at One World Jiu-Jitsu.

3. Is there a person you would like to roll with if you were given the opportunity?
I would love to roll with Marcelo Garcia, Roger Gracie, Jacare. Those are my favorite grapplers to watch and study.


4.Do you compete in BJJ?
I just started competing in BJJ recently and will try to do it more often.

5. How did you do in all your tournaments? Accomplishments?
I didn’t do so well. But it’s all a learning experience.

6. What do you do for a living? Work? School?
I own a home remodeling business.

7.What do you enjoy doing other than BJJ? Hobbies?
Other than BJJ, I like to watch and play sports, shoot pool, cooking, outdoor activities. And trying to go on dates with women as much as I can. Haha!

8.How has BJJ changed your life?
It changed my life a lot. I learned how to be humble, living a healthier lifestyle, and met a lot of cool people.

9. Any advice to the new white belts that recently started BJJ?
My advice for new white belts, keep an open mind. Leave your ego at the door. And make sure you’re having fun!

10. What do you like most and least about BJJ?
I like that it’s such a great art and how important it is to know how to fight on the ground. What i don’t like is the politics.

11.Do you train any other martial arts or exercise other than BJJ?
I trained Muay Thai for a long time and I teach it too part time.

12.Is there anything else you would like to say to the readers of this interview?
Just train hard and have fun!

Jiu-Jitsu Spotlight is to allow one’s personal opinions, advices and journey into their Jiu Jitsu training and lifestyle.
If you train Jiu-Jitsu, and would like to be featured on our website and share your love and passion for BJJ, please email to info@knoxxfit.com. All belt ranking are accepted as long as you love BJJ and you feel that it as impacted your life for the positive in any way. Osss!
Check out http://www.Knoxxgear.com

Leave a Reply

