Jiu Jitsu Spotlight with Seibo Shen

1. How did you get started in BJJ?

I’ve been watching UFC since 1993 and as a Golden Gloves runner up, I was always pulling for the striker. I’ve always favored the strikers until I listened to Eddie Bravo on one of Joe Rogan’s podcasts. The way he described the grappling game made it seem so intellectual, I just had to give it a try. Eddie is also a proponent of using medical cannabis and I found it extremely fascinating to learn a martial art and incorporate cannabis use as part of the training methodology

2. What is your current rank and who gave it to you? Where do you currently train at now?

I’ve been training since Sept of 2014 under Adam Sachnoff of 10th Planet San Mateo – White Belt

3. Is there a person you would like to roll with if you were given the opportunity?

I like Donald Cerrone’s style of BJJ, would love to roll with him

4. Do you compete in BJJ?

Yes – Once

5. How did you do in all your tournaments? Accomplishments?

I got 2nd at Gracie Regionals but there was only 4 people total in the 135 lb division and the two other guys got disqualified.

6. What do you do for a living? Work? School?

I’m an entrepreneur of VapeXhale, that is creating medical devices to help cannabis patience consume their medicine is safe, healthy, and effective manner. http://www.vapexhale.com

7. What do you enjoy doing other than BJJ? Hobbies?

I enjoy reading and learning of new ways to leverage the healing properties of cannabis. I have two beautiful daughters and outside of running my business and training, most of my free time is with my family.

8. How has BJJ changed your life?

It has improved my ability to deal with high pressure situations and stay calm. I found that this is extremely useful as an entrepreneur as you will experience incompetence at the highest levels. Being able to calmly deal with this problems and come up with quick solutions has benefitted my company tremendously.

9. Any advice to the new white belts that recently started BJJ?

Keep an open mind, ask questions, and enjoy yourself. I found that being overly competitive can lead to huge gains but it can also lead to burning out. Balancing my love of BJJ with other things to not get burnt out has kept it fresh and new for me.

10. What do you like most and least about BJJ?

Having trained in other martial art styles, what I like most about BJJ and martial arts in general is the people that you meet. So many smart, funny, warm, and interesting people are at our school.

What I like least is finding BJJ as a 38 year old. Obviously, my body cannot do the same things that I could do when I was younger but it gets me training in a smarter way.

11. Do you train any other martial arts or exercise other than BJJ?

TKD, Capoeira, boxing, kickboxing

12. Is there anything else you would like to say to the readers of this interview?

Have fun with life. Instead of having conflict with others that have differing opinions, try and understand their POV and if you still disagree, that is fine. The main thing is to avoid violence and become more inclusive of others with differing views. This will open up brand new worlds for you and you will get more out of life.

Jiu-Jitsu Spotlight is to allow one’s personal opinions, advices and journey into their Jiu Jitsu training and lifestyle.
If you train Jiu-Jitsu, and would like to be featured on our website and share your love and passion for BJJ, please email to info@knoxxfit.com. All belt ranking are accepted as long as you love BJJ and you feel that it as impacted your life for the positive in any way. Osss!
Check out http://www.Knoxxgear.com

Leave a Reply

